Duke Faculty Receive Prestigious Fulbright Award

Four awardees to take their research expertise abroad

-By Charles Givens

June 11, 2024

Four faculty members from Duke University have been selected for the prestigious Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program for the 2024-2025 academic year. The Fulbright Program, known for its dedication to international educational exchange, will provide these scholars with the opportunity to conduct research, teach and engage with diverse communities across the globe.

The 2024-2025 Duke recipients are:

Dr. Lawrence David

Molecular Genetics and Microbiology, Duke Health

Location: Philippines

Anne Gordon, J.D.

Dule Law

Location: Spain

Dr. Michael Therien

Chemistry, Trinity College of Arts & Sciences

Location: Israel

Dr. Melanie Thomas

Medical Oncology, School of Medicine

Location: Nepal

The Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program is primarily funded by Congress with additional funding from participating governments and host institutions, corporations and foundations in foreign countries. The Program is directed by the U.S. State Department’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs and administered by Institute of International Education (IIE).

“We are incredibly proud of our four Duke faculty members for receiving the prestigious Fulbright U.S. Scholar Fellowship Award,” said Eve Duffy, Associate Vice Provost for Global Affairs. “Their accomplishments are a testament to the global reach and impact of Duke’s research and scholarship. These awards further solidify Duke’s commitment to international engagement and highlight the diverse perspectives our faculty bring to the world.”

For more information on this and other Fulbright programs, please head to our website by clicking this link: global.duke.edu/fulbright