Von der Heyden Fellows Program

A scene from the 2011 Founders' Day: Karl von der Heyden, who also received the University Medal and gave the Founders' Day address, and his wife Mary Ellen talks with Divinity Professor William Turner following the ceremony. Photo: Duke University Photography

Established in 1994, the Von der Heyden Fellows program was founded to bring prominent international decision-makers in business, government, public life, academics and law for a sustained engagement with the Duke community. In particular, these fellows challenge Duke students and faculty to reach a better understanding of public life, which they can incorporate into their learning and teaching and their roles as citizens and societal leaders.

The Office of Global Affairs welcomes nominations for individuals to serve as Von der Heyden Fellows. Those interested in submitting nominations should contact Eve Duffy.

2014-2015 Von der Heyden Fellows

Pascal Lamy

Former Director-General of World Trade Organization (September 2005 - August 2013)

Dame Alison Richard

Vice Chancellor of the University of Cambridge (2003 - 2010)
Provost of Yale University (1994-2002)

2012-2013 Von der Heyden Fellows

The Honorable Michéle Flournoy

Former Undersecretary of Defense for Policy (February 2009 - December 2011)
Co-founder of the Center for a New American Security (CNAS)

The Honorable Ashton B. Carter

Deputy Secretary of Defense (October 2011- present)

2011-2012 Von der Heyden Fellows

The Honorable John Negroponte

15th Deputy Secretary of State (February 2007 – January 2009)
1st Director of National Intelligence (April 2005 – February 2007)
Career Foreign Service Officer (1960 – 1997)
Research Fellow at Yale University

Dr. Anne-Marie Slaughter

Director of Policy Planning for U.S. State Department (January 2009 – February 2011)
Bert G. Kerstetter ’66 University Professor of Politics and International Affairs at Princeton

2010 – 2011 Von der Heyden Fellows

Bob Woodward

Career Investigative Journalist
Associate Editor of the Washington Post

Dr. James Steinberg

16th Deputy Secretary of State (January 2009 – July 2011)